Raw Food — Carrot Cakes for Akkie

As the sun is out, I no longer have access to an oven. Even though I am planning to build my own pizza oven, I have not yet started. My sister is currently working on her exams, demanding snacks every hour while my mom insists on her eating healthy.

20170609_143105
Before adding frosting. At this point they are still #vegan

Raw Carrot Cakes were therefore a great idea to give my sister the needed extra sugar rush to memorise why people fart or whatever they teach in med schools these days.

I got the recipe online from gimmesomeoven.com, find it here.

The recipe includes shredded coconut which I have left out, not for any reason other than that I totally forgot. I even bought some and everything.

As I am not a vegan but just trying to eat more healthy, I did add buttercream frosting. Also because convincing my sister to eat raw food is a little difficult unless I can coat it in delicious frosting. Also, I love frosting.

20170609_144716
With a cup of coffee.

INGREDIENTS

3 cups shredded carrots

1 cup pitted dates

1 cup walnuts

2/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

METHOD

I blitzed them all together, which sounds easier than it actually is, and put it in a cupcake tin and then put them in the freezer.

FOR THE BUTTERCREAM FROSTING, check out my FUN CUPCAKES

20170609_144728
So good!

Feedback so far: For my first, and currently my last, raw food experiment I thought it was pretty alright. I had my friend try some and she really enjoyed them although she said it kind of felt like your mind is being tricked because it’s cold and moist rather than warm and gooey.

Leave a Reply

