Lemon Raspberry Cake

As I really got into frosting I decided to make a pretty cake for mother’s day.

For the cake itself I used a regular cake recipe but I added some lemon juice and rind, and a couple of frozen raspberries. Super delicious.

20170514_113359.jpg
The batter looks like frosting!

INGREDIENTS

200g sugar

200g butter

4 eggs

200g self-raising flour

METHOD

Mix the room temperature butter with the sugar until light and fluffy, add the eggs and then the flour. I added a bunch of raspberries and the lemon. Put in tin, put in oven. Done.

So now for the fun part!!

THE ICING!

I used a regular buttercream frosting recipe which I found online. I then divided it up into three bowls and added a little bit of food colouring to each, adding one drop to the first bowl, two to the second and three to the third to get 3 shades of pink. I then used a reusable piping bag to create the little tufts (what’s the word? Flowers?). A top tip I should give is that for some reason the icing kept sticking to the piping nozzle. My fix: if I started squeezing close to the cake, onto the cake and then up, that would make sure it stuck to the cake and not the nozzle!

I was really happy with the result!!

20170514_163431.jpg

Leave a Reply

